Change the world

Medicines Utilisation Research in Africa (MURIA)

Dr Brian Godman (BSc, PhD)
Pharmacologist, pharmacoepidemiologist and pharmaceutical policy analyst

KI:
Position: Senior Researcher Division of Clinical Pharmacology
Email: Brian.Godman@ki.se
Telephone: 00468 585 81068; Mobile: +447710508174

Strathclyde
Position: Visiting Professor at the Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences
Email: Brian.Godman@strath.ac.uk


Professor Amos Massele (MD, MSc, PhD)
Clinical Pharmacologist

Position: Professor in clinical pharmacology & member of medicines utilization in Africa, Faculty of medicine, University of Botswana Gaborone Botswana
Email: Amos.massele@mopipi.ub.bw
Telephone: + 267-7593086


Dr. Joyce Kgatlwane (B.Pharm, PharmD, MPH Pharmacist)
Pharmacist

Postition: Lecturer, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Botswana, Botswana
Email: jkgatlwane@yahoo.com and joyce.kgatlwane@mopipi.ub.bw
Telephone: +267 76083255 or +267 72331750


Ms Ester Naikaku (BPharm)
Pharmacist

Position: Assistant Lecturer - Department of Pharmacy Practice and Policy, School of Pharmacy, University of Namibia
Email: enaikaku@unam.na
Telephone: +264 61 206 5058


Professor Ilse Truter (BCom, BCom(Hons), MCom, DCom, BPharm, MSc, PhD)
Pharmacist

Position: Professor in Pharmacy - School of Pharmacy, Faculty of Health Sciences, Nelson Mendela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth
Email: ilse.truter@nmmu.ac.za 
Telephone: +27 41 504-2131


Dr Rianda Joubert (BPharm, MPharm (Pharmacy Practice), PhD (Pharmacy Practice))
Pharmacist (Registered with the Pharmacy Council of South Africa)

Position: Senior lecturer in Pharmacy Practice, School of Pharmacy, Faculty of Health Sciences, North-West University, Potchefstroom Campus, South Africa
Email: rianda.joubert@nwu.ac.za 
Telephone: +27 18 299 4290


Prof Martie Lubbe (BPharm, HED, MPharm, PhD)
Leader of the Niche area Medicine Usage in South Africa

Position: Leader of the Niche Area Medicine Usage in South Africa (MUSA), Faculty Health Sciences, North West University, Potchefstroom, South Africa
Email: martie.lubbe@nwu.ac.za 
Telephone: +27 18 299 2288


Dr Jaran Eriksen (MD, PhD)
Medical doctor

Position: Specialist registrar in clinical pharmacology, senior researcher, Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Department of Laboratory Medicine, Karolinska Institutet at Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden
Email: jaran.eriksen@ki.se 
Telephone: +46 8 58581054


Dr Johanita Burger (BPharm, MPharm, PhD)
Pharmacist

Position: Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy practice and Medicine Resource Management coordinator, Medicine Usage in South Africa (MUSA), Niche area in the Faculty of Health Sciences, North-West University (Potchefstroom campus, Potchefstroom, South Africa)
Email: johanita.burger@nwu.ac.za 
Telephone: +27 18 299 2285


Dr Brent C Knoesen (PhD; M.Pharm; B.Pharm; N.Dip:  Pharmaceutical Marketing)
Contract Lecturer and Research Sssistant

Position: Contract lecturer in Physiology at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth, South Africa ; Research assistant at the Drug Utilization Research Unit (DURU), Faculty of Health Sciences, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Email: brent.knoesen@nmmu.ac.za


Dr Margaret Ng'wono Oluka (B.Pharm; Master of Science in Pharmacology and Toxicology; PhD (University of Nairobi)
Pharmacist and Lecturer in Pharmacology, University of Nairobi

Position: Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology  and drug utilization Research, School of Pharmacy, College of Health Sciences, University of Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Email: olukamarga@yahoo.com, moluka@uonbi.ac.ke 
Telephone: +254 722 604 216


Dr Joseph Fadare (MD, FMCP (Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics), MA (Bioethics))
Senior Lecturer and Consultant

Position: Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology and Consultant Physician/Clinical Pharmacologist Departments of Pharmacology and Internal Medicine Ekiti State University/Ekiti State University Teaching Hospital Ado-Ekiti Nigeria
Email: jofadare@gmail.com, joseph.fadare@eksu.edu.ng 
Telephone: +2348138048127


Dr Olayinka O. Ogunleye (MBBS, MSc(Epid & Med Stat), FMCP)
Senior Lecturer and Consultant

Position: Senior Lecturer & Consultant Physician/Clinical Pharmacologist, Department of Pharmacology and Medicine, Lagos State University College of Medicine and Teaching Hospital
Telephone: + 234 805 335 7057


Prof IC Wiseman
Pharmacist

Position: Emeritus Professor in Pharmacology, Department of Pharmacy, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)
Email: iwiseman@mweb.co.za

Prof Wiseman is also a consultant, writer and presenter on wellness and is the editor of an online Internet health information programme


Mr Andy Gray BPharm MSc(Pharm) FPS FFIP
Pharmacist

Position:

  • Senior Lecturer, Division of Pharmacology, Discipline of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Health Sciences
  • Consultant Pharmacist (Research Associate) Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA) University of KwaZulu-Natal PBag 7 Congella 4013 South Africa
  • Visiting Fellow, Faculty of Pharmacy, Rhodes University, Grahamstown

Email: graya1@ukzn.ac.za or andy@gray.za.net 
Telephone: +27-31-2604298
Fax: +27-31-2604338


Mr Ogochukwu Mbachu (BPharm)
Pharmacist

Position: Pharmacist, Rex & Nhlangano Pharmacy
Email: ogombachu@yahoo.com 
Telephone: +268 76121345


Dr Theunis Kotze (DCom)
Statistician

Position: Statistician, TheoData cc, Bellville, South Africa
Email: theodata@telkomsa.net 
Telephone: 021 919 2807
Cell: 083 284 3556


Lars L Gustafsson (MD PhD)
Medical Doctor

Position: Professor, senior consultant, Chair IUPHAR Subcommittee for Clinical Pharmacology in Developing Countries, Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Department of Laboratory Medicine, Karolinska Institutet, Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden
Email: Lars-L.Gustafsson@ki.se